Four Winds Report for March 18, 2017

Posted by Planet Waves


Look before you leap, especially if your mind is focused on something other than what you are doing. Normally, a conjunction between Mercury and Venus might be characterized by things like: charm, optimism, appreciation of art, communicating your emotions for someone (especially love), and a favorable environment for money matters.


Hello Planet Waves Reader — We’ll post this daily almanac here each morning. If you would like to get on board, you may sign up at this link. Please share this newsletter with your friends. Thank you! — the PW Editors

Today is Saturday, March 18, 2017
Hebrew date is 20 Adar 5777
Islamic date is 19 Jumada-II 1438

Mayan Tzolk’in Day is 5 Lamat
Mayan Long Count is
Julian Day is 2457831

Today’s Birthdays: Christian Goldbach (1690-1764), Kicking Bear (1846-1904), Edgar Cayce (1877-1945), Wilfred Owen (1893-1918), Peter Graves (1926-2010), George Plimpton (1927-2003), John Updike (1932-2009), Unita Blackwell (1933), Wilson Pickett (1941-2006), Kathleen Collins (1942-1988), Susan Tyrrell (1945-2012), Irene Cara (1959), Richard Biggs (1960-2004), Vanessa Williams (1963), Queen Latifah (1970), Adam Levine (1979), Sophia Myles (1980), Lily Collins (1989).

“People in Mississippi, especially Black people, when we talked about courage and where do we get our courage from in the beginning of the movement, we — I would always say that nothing from nothing leaves nothing. And we didn’t have nothing. And I guess our courage came out of — because we didn’t have nothing, that we couldn’t lose nothing. But we wanted something for ourselves and for our children. And so we took a chance with our lives.”
— Unita Blackwell

Guest post: We Must Remember History
As Madalyn Aslan explains in this guest article, the U.S. is a Cancer nation, born on the 4th of July. The sign Cancer, more than anything, consists of memory. This is how Cancer, a crab, survives. The crab is our oldest living creature on earth — five hundred million years old. A survivor, above all. Memory is crucial. We must remember history. And that we have choice.

Moon Phase: Moon is in Disseminating (waning gibbous) phase and enters Last Quarter phase on March 20 at 8:58 am PDT / 11:58 am EDT (15:58:09 UTC).
Next New Moon is in Aries on March 27-28 at 7:57 pm PDT / 10:57 pm EDT (02:57:09 UTC).
Corresponding Full Moon in Libra is on April 10-11 at 11:08 pm PDT / 2:08 am EDT (06:08:02 UTC).
Moon Sign: Moon is in Sagittarius and enters Capricorn on March 20 at 8:31 am PDT / 11:31 am EDT (15:30:49 UTC).
Sun Degree: 28-29 Pisces.

Planetary Stations and Sign Changes
No changes today.

Interesting Selected Aspects | Data by Serennu
— Ceres trine Chariklo at 5:06 am PDT / 8:06 am EDT (12:06:34 UTC).
— Mercury conjunct Venus at 5:27 am PDT / 8:27 am EDT (12:26:43 UTC).
— Sun trine Varuna at 1:13 pm PDT / 4:13 pm EDT (20:13:24 UTC).
— Pallas square Ixion at 8:12 pm PDT / 11:12 pm EDT (03:12:18 March 19 UTC).

Subscribe to Planet Wavessign up here | Visit Our Website at this link

If Your Birthday is March 18
(The Day of Return) | Pisces Birthday Reading | All Other Signs
When you scuba dive, you constantly have to equalize the pressure in your inner ears as you descend and ascend. Part of the trick is to go slowly; this enables you to notice when you need to address it and adjust, which can be done quite gently. Today’s astrology suggests that you may feel quite at home in your most watery depths. While there, you can access help in equalizing any pressure you feel as a deeply sensitive spirit operating within the impersonal laws of nature and the illogical demands of humanity. Cosmic law might insist you address your shadow; but remember, cosmic law is synonymous with love. Trust that you’re swimming with support.

Written in the Planets
Look before you leap, especially if your mind is focused on something other than what you are doing. Normally, a conjunction between Mercury and Venus might be characterized by things like: charm, optimism, appreciation of art, communicating your emotions for someone (especially love), and a favorable environment for money matters. But today’s Mercury-Venus conjunction might not be ‘normal’. The reason? Even though Mercury is moving in direct motion, Venus is retrograde — plus Venus and Mercury are in a sign ruled by Mars. Aries can give both Mercury and Venus an edge of rash impetuousness, aggression or impulsiveness. The result could be the kinds of SNAFUs you’d associate with a Mercury retrograde. Now that you’ve been warned, you can remind yourself to pause and double-check the essentials.


Sign up for Eric’s brand new class: Karma, Reincarnation and Astrology. This class will take place by live teleconference on Saturday, April 1.

4 thoughts on “Four Winds Report for March 18, 2017

  1. Glen Young

    From Alice Bailey’s esoteric psychology where she calls Mars the Lord of Death and Bringer of Life. Mars requires the emotional life to be swung into conflict, having no side of human nature uninvolved; the need to carry our physical nature, the emotional or desire nature, and our mental process up into heaven, This takes place as a consequence of overcoming form nature by means of the “Serpent of wisdom,” which is the esoteric name oft given to the soul. Unita Blackwell’s courage came from her soul.

  2. Sue Edwards

    Hi Glen!

    I enjoy Alice Baily’s works, too, and appreciate your comment about Units Blackwell’s source of courage.

    The subject came up recently for me, regarding my care taking an old cat of ours that is slowly dying. My daughter told me she didn’t think she could be as brave as me. I simply told her that I call it Courage, saying Love is the only thing stronger than my sorrow or fear of death.

  3. Glen Young

    Ahh Sue Edwards,
    Eric’s had mentioned in the Monday Morning Horoscope about Mars transiting Chiron’s discovery degree in Taurus, and called it an esoteric fact. As for the existential crisis, they’re always difficult to understand; because they asks a question? But I digress to your Theodor Geisel comments, and Amanda’s post: `Connecting the Dots By Moonlight.’ Because a few days later, on the 1A. org (, the show was about The Secret Life of Ernest Hemingway, Mediocre Spy. This synchronicity perhaps gives way to Richard Tarnas diachronic orb of influence, as our current President seems to be in with the Russians.

  4. Sue Edwards

    Thank You Glen Young! I enjoyed listening to the link you shared from NPR. Special thanks for introducing me to Richard Tarnas. I know I will enjoy reading his books.

    The key I found that helped me was understanding what consciousness is, was, has always been, might be, etc. What Eric’s comments about “I Am”meant to me. It’s been my experience throughout the years that quite a few of us have forgotten what a “state of being” verb is. I seethed when I heard President Clinton say “That depends upon what the meaning of is is. And the public accepted it.

    I hear the change in perception when I listen to one of JFK’s speeches to the public. He was respectful and addressing what he considered people who could think on their own. GW’s speeches sounded patronizing as if he was daddy speaking to children. Now we have a Reality show. Which brings up questions about what is Real.

    I know my reality is as Real as I Am and I’m guessing it’s the same for all of us. What is Real, endures the test of time. Only the perception of it changes.

Leave a Reply