Four Winds Report for Jan. 19, 2018

Posted by Planet Waves


Chief among the day’s events is the Sun’s move from Capricorn into Aquarius. In part, this sign reminds us that liberation requires responsibility; and that what differentiates a ‘group’ from a ‘mob’ is the presence of individuals who retain their ability to think for themselves.


The Only Thing Missing From This Almanac Is Your Daily Horoscope

Every day, you read the Four Winds report, to get a sense of the current energies. There’s just one thing missing — your daily horoscope. Written for you, every day of the week, your Planet Waves daily horoscope is designed to give you the clue you need, that little edge to make your life go smoother.

One well-placed line from an astrologer can make all the difference in your life. We now have two editions of the Four Winds Report — one with, and one without your daily reading. You may be one of the readers who’ve waited for years for me to offer you this — and now you can have it. Horoscope Lover membership gets you direct mailing of each day’s reading, plus the weekly reading on Sunday night, and the monthly reading the last Thursday of the month. Sign up at this link.

with love,


Today is Friday, Jan. 19, 2018
Hebrew date is 3 Shevat 5778
Islamic date is 2 Jumada-I 1439

Mayan Tzolk’in Day is 13 Men
Mayan Long Count is
Julian Day is 2458138

Today’s Birthdays: Dogen (1200-1253), James Watt (1736-1819), Auguste Comte (1798-1857), Edgar Allan Poe (1809-1849), Paul Cezanne (1839-1906), John H. Johnson (1918-2005), Bernard Dunstan (1920-2015), Patricia Highsmith (1921-1995), Jean Stapleton (1923-2013), Tippi Hedren (1930), Willie “Big Eyes” Smith (1936-2011), Phil Everly (1939-2014), Janis Joplin (1943-1970), Dolly Parton (1946), Julian Barnes (1946), Robert Palmer (1949-2003), Cindy Sherman (1954), Edwidge Danticat (1969), Shawn Wayans (1971).

“To be true to myself, to be the person that was on the inside of me, and not play games. That’s what I’m trying to do mostly in the whole world, is not bullshit myself and not bullshit anybody else.”
— Janis Joplin

Liberation and Responsibility with the Sun in Aquarius

Tomorrow night the Sun leaves Capricorn and ingresses Aquarius. That this sign change happens each year within a few days of Martin Luther King Jr.’s birthday (which was on Monday) feels fascinatingly appropriate, even though King was a Capricorn.

Photo by Amanda Painter.

I say this because of the two planets that rule Aquarius: Saturn (which also rules Capricorn) and Uranus. Saturn represents (in part) responsibility and containment; Uranus represents (in part) liberation and unbridled life force. We need both concepts, both forms of energy, to live in balance.

What I find most striking about King’s life and work in this context was the way he integrated and championed these concepts: calling, from a place of deeply held social and personal responsibility, for liberation; finding the most effective outlet for his considerable life force by focusing it into a clear and singular purpose — one that took as its container the principle of non-violent protest. By embodying one clear structure of action and philosophy, he sought to dismantle and revolutionize another social and political structure, in pursuit of freedom for a repressed group. And he did so by inspiring individuals to use their freedom to take personal responsibility — whether they were among the repressed group, or among the elite group doing the oppressing.

Whether this owes anything to King’s natal Mercury in Aquarius or is simply a fascinating stroke of synchronicity, I’m not entirely sure. But I appreciate how we can perhaps get a better feel for Aquarius and its two very different ruling planets by thinking of King in this way.

Read more…

Moon Phase: Moon is in New phase and enters Waxing Crescent phase on Jan. 20-21 at 7:46 pm PST / 10:46 pm EST (03:45:42 UTC).
Next Full Moon is in Leo on Jan. 31 at 5:27 am PST / 8:27 am EST (13:26:39 UTC).
Corresponding New Moon in Aquarius is on Feb. 15 at 1:05 pm PST / 4:05 pm EST (21:05:07 UTC).
Moon Sign: Moon is in Aquarius and enters Pisces today at 12:26 pm PST / 3:26 pm EST (20:26:20 UTC).
Sun Degree: 30 Capricorn-1 Aquarius.

Planetary Stations and Sign Changes
Moon enters Pisces at 12:26 pm PST / 3:26 pm EST (20:26:20 UTC).
Pallas enters Taurus at 6:29 pm PST / 9:29 pm PST (02:29:04 Jan. 20 UTC).
Sun enters Aquarius at 7:09 pm PST / 10:09 pm EST (03:08:56 Jan. 20 UTC).

Interesting Selected Aspects | Data by Serennu
— Mars opposite Sedna at 6:32 am PST / 9:32 am EST (14:31:49 UTC).
— Ceres opposite Juno at 1:25 pm PST / 4:25 pm EST (21:25:03 UTC).
— Mercury conjunct Amycus at 4:14 pm PST / 7:14 pm EST (00:13:54 Jan. 20 UTC).
— Sun square Rhadamanthus at 6:00 pm PST / 9:00 pm EST (01:59:36 Jan. 20 UTC).
— Sun square Pallas at 7:24 pm PST / 10:24 pm EST (03:23:50 Jan. 20 UTC).

Subscribe to Planet Wavessign up here | Visit Our Website at this link

If Your Birthday is Jan. 19
(The Day of Dreams and Visions) | Birthday Readings: Capricorn | Aquarius | Others
You may feel destined to be a person of power and influence, though this will come through collaboration. You and your collaborators can have a positive impact and even profit. Yet it’s essential that you do things out in the open. The current theme of your life is integrity; anything you say in private is something you should be able to say publicly.

Current Capricorn Weekly Horoscope

This week, a rare alignment between Jupiter in Scorpio and Pluto in your birth sign presents some unusual opportunity for success. You’ve had a taste of this the past week to 10 days, and you may already be on a roll.

Read more…

Current Capricorn Monthly Horoscope

Saturn’s return to your birth sign describes a sense of completeness you have not felt for a very long time, if ever. Take a moment to collect yourself: a week or two of reflecting on your goals and preparing your mind.

Read more…

Written in the Planets
Today’s astrology is busy (see the Thursday members’ essay for a full interpretation). Chief among the day’s events is the Sun’s move from Capricorn into Aquarius. In part, this sign reminds us that liberation requires responsibility; and that what differentiates a ‘group’ from a ‘mob’ is the presence of individuals who retain their ability to think for themselves. It may help to listen to your body’s subtle signals, especially if you can tap into your compassion and empathy.


Eric is busily working on The Art of Becoming, the 2018 Planet Waves Annual; and we expect to publish by the end of this month. You can pre-order all 12 chapter-length signs here, or you may choose your individual signs here.

Leave a Reply